Yes, it’s been nearly a month since the last review, but fear not, I’ve spent much of my Thanksgiving break busy reading. Reviews will be along as soon as I can finish some grad school applications and a couple of projects that need to be wrapped up by the end of the semester. There’s also the matter of digesting the sheer volume of material I read. Between scientific articles, science fiction, and my daily forum rounds, I would guess that I’ve read close to 2,000,000 words in five days.
Anyway, on the docket:

  • Dancing With Eternity – A debut sci-fi novel by John Patrick Lowrie, published last year by Camel Press. I’ll have a full review coming up soon, but I would like to go ahead and recommend it anyway. There’s adventure, technology, and insight into what it means to be human. Would make a great gift for Christmas (ages 16+) Done
  • Man Against the Future (Brian Young) Done
  • The Forever War (Joe Haldeman)
  • Old Man’s War Series (John Scalzi)
  • Various William Gibson
  • Pump Six and Other Stories (Paolo Bacigalupi)
  • Convergent Series (Larry Niven)
  • Roadside Picnic (Arkady and Boris Strugatsky) – Sadly, I learned later on that in a weird coincidence, Boris Strugatsky died the night I read this. Done

There are some other books that I would like to get read over winter break. How much will get read remains to be seen. Some of the things I need to get finished or would really like to read soon:

  • Accelerando (Charles Stross) – started this one over the summer, and got a third of the way through before other things got in the way
  • Ringworld (Larry Niven) – same as above
  • The Stories of Ibis (Hiroshi Yamamoto)
  • The Case for Mars (Robert Zubrin) – kind of straddles the line between sci-fi and advocating for a Mars mission with current and near future technologies.
  • Cryptic (Jack McDevitt)
  • Lightspeed Magazine (Issues 28, 29, 30, and 31) – part of my attempt to read the monthly magazines and review some interesting new stories. Haven’t quite caught up enough to do this yet, though.

There’s more that I would like to read but I haven’t started those yet. Thanksgiving was at least good for cutting down on the number of books that I had laying around started, but never finished.

