Well, I made a switch to a new Windows phone after my first-gen Droid finally kicked the bucket. As much as I would have liked to stay with the Android, a nice offer from my brother to give me the phone he just decommissioned, no strings attached, was just too good to pass up.

I’m settling into the new Metro interface just fine, but upon switching over my Kindle account to the new phone, I was disappointed that the magazine subscriptions I signed up to last month weren’t available on the Windows phone. Unfortunately, since the subscriptions were only viewable on Android or Apple devices, I was forced to cancel them.

I was hoping that I could start a regular series on reviewing some articles of interest in Apex, Lightspeed, Analog, and Fantasy & Science Fiction (with room for expansion in the future), but for now, I guess I’ll have to shelve those plans. If anyone can think of another app where I can subscribe to these magazines on the Windows phone, please let me know!

(A review of Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl is in the (slow) process of being written, and should be along in the next day or two. I also have a couple of essays I’m working on based on some comments and conversations, and maybe a couple reviews on stories from the aforementioned magazines.)

